Make it official. Add “donchya” to America’s lexicon

If you live in the part of the United States where the word “y’all” is used, there’s another word that I’m reasonably certain you use as well. In fact, you use it in it’s proper English form and it’s vernacular. That word is “donchya.” Here’s how I use it.

“Donchya want another beer? It’s frickin’ 92 degrees.”

It’s used as an offer. It’s also used as an expression of gratitude. As I write this, my friends Bill and Meda, and are visiting Yellowstone National Park. Meda has been sharing her road trip pictures on Facebook. So, my statement to Bill & Meda this morning would be, “Donchya want to come back and see all this in the Winter?” I know Margaret and I want to see Yellowstone in Winter, but I digress.

Let’s compare that to “Don’t you.” If you’re in the part of the country where we use “Donchya,” you know you also use “Don’t you.” Let me give you an example.

“Don’t you drive my car and leave my gas tank empty!” Or, “Don’t you let your dog out. We just saw a gator down in the river.”

Same words, but there’s a huge difference in tone, donchya think?

2 thoughts on “Make it official. Add “donchya” to America’s lexicon

Leave a comment